A Few of My Phobias (Part One)

Greetings, my dear Stars!

I know I haven’t done one of those long, literate how-to guides in seemingly forever, but I’ve been so busy with school and I simply haven’t had enough time to put one of those together. This post, however, has been sitting in my drafts for a while now, and I figured today was the day that it finally sees the light.

COULROPHOBIA

THE FEAR OF CLOWNS

poltergeistmyidol

A very scary and mean-looking clown

 

This one in particular seems to be really common, from what I’ve read and seen. The weird thing about being afraid of clowns is that clowns are actually supposed to do the opposite and make you laugh. I know that up until fifth grade, my fear of clowns never existed. Like, ever. I guess one day I just snapped and viewed those horrible, terrifying creatures for what they really are. Props to you if you aren’t worried that you’ll find a clown figure standing at the foot of your bed holding a knife when you wake up mysteriously in the middle of the night. Or if you’re totally nonchalant about the fact that you open the curtains only to find a clown with its face pressed to the glass, watching your every move.

ICHTHYOPHOBIA

THE FEAR OF FISH

26995340-pike-wallpapers

An ugly-ass fish

 

Yes, you read that right. I have a fear of fish, and I live in a coastal town/area/whatever it is you wanna call it. There is only one group of fish in the entire world that I’m not afraid of, and that is the little shoal of baby guppies that swim around your toes at the local beach (which I live two minutes away from, just so you know). Anything else for me is a total and complete no-go. I absolutely cannot stand to look at fish and their beady eyes, and I hate the feel of them sliding their foil-like scales against your smooth skin when you go snorkelling. I bypassed the opportunity to go snorkelling in both Thailand and the Bahamas when I was there, too, and I don’t regret it, for those very reasons. Eating fish, though, is another story. I actually quite enjoy most types of seafood, and I’m always willing to try new fish. As long as it’s mostly filleted and skinned, I like my fish. Dead. And fried, preferably in batter.

CLAUSTROPHOBIA

THE FEAR OF SMALL/ENCLOSED SPACES

claustrophobia

I have no words for this poor, poor boy 😦

 

Claustrophobia is one of those fears that surprises me when people aren’t claustrophobic. I honestly feel suffocated when I’m in small spaces, like I can’t breathe, and that there’s no escape. Last year we went on this camp, and it seemed like one of the main objectives that the guides had on day two was to get everyone over their fears. I was totally cool with the other activities, but there was this underground “tunnel” called the “Snake Pit”. There weren’t any snakes in there, though, so don’t worry, but the tunnel was pitch black and so small that you had to crawl through it literally on your stomach. Extra sized and tall people actually couldn’t even fit. Hell, I struggled to get out of it once I reached the end. But if that wasn’t enough, it was a FREAKING MAZE! One wrong turn and you have to find a way to crawl back the way you came from, in the pitch, inky darkness and silence. I made it through – but that doesn’t mean that it diminished my claustrophobia. If anything, that activity only made it worse. So, thank you, darling camp.

 

…and I’m thinking now that I should probably split this into parts, because I probably have three or four more mainstream fears, and I don’t want to make this too long or boring for you all 🙂

love-yasti

Leave a Reply

